House No3, Gateway Mall Okara, Okara, Punjab, Pakistan


Government of Pakistan issued its first coins in 1948, based on the traditional Rupees, Annas and Pice of the sub-continent, depicting crescent and star.

In line with global decimal systems, Pakistan introduced decimal coinage on Jan 01, 1961. This decimal coinage was based on Rupee with division into paisas. 1, 5 and 10-paisa coins were issued in 1961, followed by 25 and 50 paisa coins in 1963. However, decimal coins were demonetized from 1st October 2014.

One Rupee coin was issued in 1977 on Dr. Allama Muhammad Iqbal’s 100th Birth Anniversary. Rs. 2, Rs. 5 and Rs. 10 coins were issued in 1998, 2002 and 2016 respectively. SBP has also issued commemorative coins on occasions such as Father of the Nation Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah’s Birth Anniversary, Islamic Summit, Wild Life Conservation day, Poet of the East Allama Iqbal’s Birth anniversary, Advent of 15th century Hijra etc.

Recently, commemorative coins have been issued on Mother of the Nation Fatima Jinnah’s 110th Birth Anniversary, former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto’s Death anniversary and laudatory coins paying tribute to humanitarian services rendered by the late Mr. Abdus Sattar Edhi and the late Dr. Ruth Pfau. In the past, gold coins were also issued occasionally, such as the Rs. 500/- coin issued on the 100th Birth Anniversary of Quaid-e-Azam in 1976, a Rs. 500/- commemorative coin issued on the 100th Birth anniversary of Dr. Allama Muhammad Iqbal in 1977 and the highest denomination coin i.e. Rs. 3000/- coin issued for the conservation of “Astor Markhor” in 1976

Mention that you found this ad on DealMarkaz.pk when you call.

Published 6 months ago
Views 460
Ad Id 174821